Home Artists Vicki Yohe Biography, Age, Songs, Husband, Children

Vicki Yohe Biography, Age, Songs, Husband, Children


Vicki Yohe (born July 13, 1965) is a worship leader and gospel vocalist. She grew up in Rapid City, South Dakota, after being born in Normal, Illinois. She performed her first solo when she was five years old. When she was 14, her family relocated to Hammond, Louisiana. She accepted a position as music director at a church near Baton Rouge when she was 19 years old.

Vicki Yohe Biography

Vicki Yohe Biography

Vicki was born into a minister’s family, and at the age of five, she wrote and sang her first song. Vicki started bible school at the age of 17, and after two years, at the age of 19, she accepted a Music Director’s post near Baton Rouge, LA., and it was around this time that Vicki recorded her debut project. Vicki signed a recording contract with the independent company GIANT Records in 1994, and she released three projects that contained successes including “The Mercy Seat,” “Under The Blood,” and “Something About My Praise.”

Aside from the many services that Vicki ministers in every year, she makes time for missions work in her ministry. She has ministered in various parts of Africa, Europe and Asia . More importantly, Vicki Yohe Ministries has opened NEW DESTINY for CHILDREN an orphanage in Jinja , Uganda for children orphaned by the AIDS epidemic.

READ MORE: Who Is Vicki Yohe’s Husband, Troy Hodges?

Vicki Yohe Songs

She released her self-titled independent debut album in 1992. This drew Giant Records’ interest, and she was signed in 1994. She is most known for her songs “The Mercy Seat” and “Because Of Who You Are,” for which she received a Dove Award nomination, and for appearing on TBN’s Praise the Lord show on a regular basis. CeCe Winans approached her after seeing her on television and offered her a contract with Winans’ new Pure Springs Gospel label. Yohe’s debut for the label was 2003’s I Just Want You.

Controversy over support of Donald Trump

In reaction to the Women’s March in Washington, DC, Yohe uploaded a meme to her Instagram account in January 2017, depicting an actor dressed as Jesus carrying suitcases with the caption, “On my way back to the White House.” She added comments in support of Donald Trump, stating that marches and protests will be fruitless and that “you know you are doing something right when there is so much opposition!!!”

The post attracted immediate criticism from her predominantly-Black followers and from activist Shaun King; Yohe soon shut down most of her social media presence and posted an apology to Facebook, saying that she “never wanted to ever hurt anyone and that has never been [her] intention,” but that she felt that Barack Obama’s policies as president “many times went against what most Christians believe”. She wrote that many churches had canceled ministry events with her and that she had been called a racist for her support of Trump.


  • 1992: Vicki Yohe
  • 1994: Everlasting Love
  • 1995: I Give You Me
  • 1997: He Knows My Heart
  • 2000: The Best of Vicki Yohe
  • 2000: Christmas Presence
  • 2001: Beyond This Song
  • 2003: I Just Want You
  • 2005: He’s Been Faithful
  • 2009: Reveal Your Glory: Live from the Cathedral (CD & DVD)
  • 2011: I’m at Peace
  • 2013: Free Worshiper

  • 2004: GMA Dove Award nomination for Contemporary Gospel Recorded Song of the Year for “Because of Who You Are”
  • 2006: Stellar Award nomination for the album He’s Been Faithful


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here